Awards and Honorary Titles

The department shows its recognition of the outstanding achievements of selected academics by awarding honorary doctorates. The University emphasises the special ties of private individuals to TU Darmstadt by awarding them the title of honorary senator. Together with the departments of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology and Mathematics, the Department of Computer Science awards the Robert Piloty Prize.

Honorary Senators of TU Darmstadt

The title of Honorary Senator recognises special services for and in support of TU Darmstadt. These include strengthening TU’s reputation as well as significant support for TU. An honorary senatorship cannot be conferred on TU members. It is awarded in the context of an academic ceremony following a Senate vote.

  • Görtz, Dr.-Ing. E.h. Horst

Honorary Doctorates

Honorary Doctorates are conferred upon recommendation of a department. This rare honour is bestowed upon individuals whose excellent scientific or artistic performance has earned them special merit. Those honoured may not be members of TU Darmstadt. The Senate must agree to the conferral of the honorary doctorate.

  • Dam, Prof. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Andries van, Ph.D.
    Barrington, Rhode Island, USA
  • Hopgood, Prof. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Frank R.A.
    Wantage, Oxon
  • Hotz, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Günter
    St. Ingbert
  • Müller, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Günter
  • Raffler, Dr. h.c. mult. Dipl.-Math. Hartmut
  • Straßer †, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Wolfgang
  • Wahlster, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang K.
Picture: Gregor Rynkowski

Robert Piloty Prize

The Robert Piloty Prize is awarded for outstanding achievements and exceptional research and development work in the fields of computer science, electrical engineering and information technology as well as applied mathematics. The Robert Piloty Prize is generally awarded every two years. It is endowed with a total of 10,000 € and a medal. Read more about the prize and previous awardees.

Read more about the award and the previous winners here.