Awards received

The department's scientists and students are regularly recognized for their research. Here you will find a selection from the last few years.


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
ERC Advanced Grant Iryna Gurevych European Research Council (ERC) InterText – Modeling Text as a Living Object in Cross-Document Context
ERC Advanced Grant Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi European Research Council (ERC) Project “HYDRANOS”
EIC Transition Grand Jan Peters European Innovation Council (EIC) Visual Robot Programming


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
2nd place at the 8th German IT Security Awards Thomas Schneider, Daniel Kales, Christian Rechberger, Matthias Senker and Christian Weinert Foundation “Horst Görtz-Stiftung” Project “ContactGuard”: Mobile privacy-preserving contact discovery
ERC Proof of Concept Grant Jan Peters European Research Council (ERC) Project „AssemblySkills“
LOEWE-Spitzen-Professur Iryna Gurevych Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz – LOEWE Ubiquitous knowledge processing


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
Appointment as a Fellow of ACL Iryna Gurevych Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) Outstanding work in the field of natural language processing and machine learning.
ERC Consolidator Grant Stefan Roth European Research Council (ERC) Project “RED – Robust, Explainable Deep Networks in Computer Vision”
ERC Starting Grant Thomas Schneider European Research Council (ERC) Project „PSOTI“
Longuet-Higgins Prize 2020 Stefan Roth

and his co-autores Deqing Sun and Michael J. Black
IEEE Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (PAMI) Technical Committee at each year’s CVPR „Secrets of Optical Flow Estimation and Their Principles“, 2010 (opens in new tab)
Google Women Techmakers Scholarship for Computer Science Kristina Hostáková
Googles Women Techmakers program Several essays discussing the question of how to be a strong female leader and encouraging women to pursue a career in computer science
Copernicus-Award Sebastian Faust and Stefan Dziembowski German Research Foundation (DFG) and Foundation for Polish Science Research in cryptography and IT-security
Appointment into Selection Committee of the ERC Scientific Council Mira Mezini European Research Council (ERC) Continuance and renewal of activities of the Scientific Council regarding „Horizon Europe“, the next research and innovation program of the EU


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
ACM SIGSAC Doctoral Dissertation Award Felix Günther ACM Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control (SIGSAC) Dissertation „Modeling Advanced Security Aspects of Key Exchange and Secure Channel Protocols“
Weizenbaum-Award Philipp Imperatori Forum of Computer Scientists and IT Professionals for Peace and Social Responsibility (FIfF) Bachelor-Thesis „Verschlüsselungspolitik der USA – Eine vergleichende Analyse der historischen Entwicklung“
Member in Quadriga for the National Pact of Cybersecurityt Mira Mezini Federal Ministry of the Interior Development and presentation of a macrosocial declaration for cybersecurity
Honorary doctorate Dieter W. Fellner University of Rostock Honorary doctorate of engineering (Dr.-Ing. eh.)
German AI-Award Kristian Kersting Business journal „BILANZ“ Development of new methods for machine learning and artificial intelligence
ERC Starting Grant Thomas Schneider European Research Council (ERC) Project „PSOTI“ (Privacy-preserving Services On The Internet)
Dr.-Heinz-Sebiger-Foundation-Award and European IT-Security-Award Felix Günther Foundation “DATEV-Stiftung Zukunft” and
European Research Consortium for Informatics and Mathematics (ERCIM)
Dissertation „Modeling Advanced Security Aspects of Key Exchange and Secure Channel Protocols“
Appointment as a Fellow of the EurAI Kristian Kersting European Association for Artificial Intelligence (EurAI) Continued contribution of excellent research in the field of artificial intelligence
Funding LOEWE-Centre “emergenCITY” Matthias Hollick Hessian Ministry of Science Scientic centre coordination
Appointment into Panel of Eminent Persons of the Cyber Security Cluster Matthias Hollick Cyber Security Cluster Bonn e.V. Recommendations in cybersecurity for politics and economics
1. place in „Hack the News Datathon“ Iryna Gurevych with her team Data Science Society Recognition of propaganda in news papers by means of artificial intelligence


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
Outstanding Contributions Award Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi ACM Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control (SIGSAC) For dedicated research, teaching and management in the security community and pioneering contributions for content protection, mobile security and Hardware-assisted security
APEX Award of Excellence Johannes Buchmann IEEE Computer Society Award for edition of IEEE Security & Privacy concerning Postquantum Cryptography
IEEE Trustcom 2018 Best Paper Award Max Mühlhäuser, Sheikh Mahbub Habib and Nikolaos Alexopoulos IEEE Computer Society „Trust4App: Automating Trustworthiness Assessment of Mobile Applications“
Election in GDNÄ-board Johannes Buchmann Society “Gesellschaft Deutscher Naturforscher und Ärzte e. V. (GDNÄ)” Professional represantation in the field of computer science/ mathematics
Appointment into Fellow of the IEEE Jan Peters IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) For contributions to motion planning and control of autonomous vehicles
Funding „EXIST-Forschungstransfer" Oskar von Stryk and his team Stefan Kohlbrecher, Dorian Scholz and Alberto Romay Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy Funding of the team “Energy Robotics” for the development of autonomous mobile robot applications
Uni-DAS Science Award Marius Cordts Group Uni-DAS e.V. Dissertation "Understanding Cityscapes: Efficient Urban Semantic Scene Understanding“
Appointment into Fellow of the society “Gesellschaft für Informatik” Ralf Steinmetz Society “Gesellschaft für Informatik” Contribution to research of the synchronisation of multimedia data and adaptive communication systems
Distinguished Service Award Wolfgang Bibel European Association for Artificial Intelligence (EurAI) Professional and organizational earnings in establishment of artificial intelligence (AI)
Google Faculty Research Award Mira Mezini Google Project „Identifying Problematic Children Apps“


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
Konrad-Zuse-Medaille Johannes Buchmann Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI) Recognition of his contributions to computer science
ARGOS Challenge German-austrian„Argonauts“-Team | Simulation, Systems Optimization and Robotics Group und Taurob GmbH, Wien Total Intelligent, autonomous surface robots on oil and gas platforms


Award Award Winner Awarded by Topic
Appointment into GI-Junior-Fellow (opens in new tab) Juliane Krämer Society “Gesellschaft für Informatik” Mediation of the importance of computer science and relevance of IT and data security
GFFT Honorary membership for lifetime achievement Johannes Buchmann Society “Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Forschungstransfers e.V. (GFFT)” Honoring of lifetime achievement in the field of IT security and cryptography